Kelsi's Insight on Education

It’s the End of the -Teaching- World as We Know It.

Posted on: August 12, 2010

Wow. I can’t believe that this is my final post for Ed620. The past five weeks have flown by SO quickly! More than likely, one reason is due to the fact that the information we have learned is a huge interest of mine and the class was extremely hands-on. I learned something new… EVERY time I logged into the Desire2Learn website.

I have had a great time working with PiratePad (as previously blogged about) with my group members. We chose to use Piratepad again as our collaboration tool for the final project. We also settled on utilizing VoiceThread for the digital story and kept with the BP Oil Spill theme, as we did with our Internet Scavenger Hunt. I have heard of VoiceThread before, but never used it until just a few days ago. Here is a link to my group’s BP Oil Spill Digital Story. I am anxious to find ways to incorporate this tool into my English classroom.

Probably the most beneficial part of this class for me was to get busy with updating (okay, basically, totally creating) my classroom Wikipage. I started, and by started, I mean, created, a wiki in October 2009 and haven’t touched it since. That is, until about three weeks ago. Now, I have a nice collection of pages (and information on those pages) to get the year started off right! A Wordle collage welcoming you to my Wikipage; a Google calendar embedded to update students on due dates; a digital copy of my Letter to the Parents and Classroom Policies. Links to pages/topics we will cover in the English classroom, along with, a Doppelme character-that looks a bit more like me, than the one I created on Voki.

Ms. Wilcox - Doppelme

Ms. Wilcox -Voki

I hope to continue the momentum of updating my classroom wikipage and not only learning more about Web 2.0 tools and how to incorporate them well into the classroom, but also sharing the knowledge and tools I’ve gained from this class and teaching others, that would benefit from these tools, as well.

1 Response to "It’s the End of the -Teaching- World as We Know It."

Wow, what a great post! I’m so glad to read all of the things you’ve learned and enjoyed your contribution to our learning community.

Keep blogging!
~ John

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

My Del.icio.us Site

